Monday, February 3, 2014

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy

Book Review: Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee


Title: Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy
Author: Karen Foxlee
Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade, Fairy Tale retelling
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: January 28 2014
Hardcover: 240 Pages
Source: NetGally - Thank you Random House.
Find: Goodreads | Amazon

A modern-day fairy tale set in a mysterious museum that is perfect for readers of Roald Dahl and Blue Balliett.

Unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard doesn’t believe in anything that can’t be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia’s help.

As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy’s own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.

A story within a story, this a modern day fairytale is about the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.

My Review: 

Ophelia and The Marvelous Boy is an fanciful, lovely and enchanting story. This story has everything you would want from a fantasy novel. We have an evil queen, a small self conscious, grieving girl, a family in turmoil,  a very marvelous little boy and of course-magic! 

Ophelia does not believe in magic and upon meeting the little boy, with no name, thinks he is a lunatic. Nevertheless she winds up being pulled into an adventure of a life time, where she learns to be brave and conquer her fears and even believe in magic.  I really liked how Ophelia’s mother is the voice inside her head urging her own to face her fears and conquer her personal demons.

I adored this story. It is filled with twists and turns that keep you engaged and wanting to read through the night. The beautiful illustration, enchanted language that makes the book flow beautifully with a dangerous adventure filled with. How can you not love a book that has a evil snow queen coupled with dangerous and scary adventures? Themes of bravery, trust, family, love friendship and devotion are throughout the book making this story easy to recommend.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR/ILLUSTRATOR

KAREN FOXLEE is the author of two young adult novels, The Anatomy of Wings and The Midnight Dress. She lives in Gympie, Australia, with her daughter.

YOKO TANAKA has illustrated children's books by Kate DiCamillo, Sara Pennypacker, R.L. LaFevers, Laura Godwin, and Keith McGowan.
Post a Comment